The problem with stored Postbox data
I use Postbox, the Mail Client as a tool for checking problems with customer’s email accounts, and migrating mail data. When I have finished using it I don’t want to retain their data, nor do I want it taking up space on my machine. Just removing the ‘accounts’ doesn’t actually remove the data, it sits in Application Data forever (well maybe not forever, but a long time).
The solution might be user profiles
While searching for the location of stored mail data, I chanced across the Postbox Profile Manager. This allows complete profiles to be added and removed.
Enabling the Postbox Profile manager:
- Preferences > General > ‘Show Profile Manager on startup’ (tick checkbox).
- Restart Postbox.
Once restarted the following dialogue box will be shown:
From here you can right-click on a profile name to delete the profile.
Beware: Deleting a profile removes all the account data stored in it. If the deleted profile is the main/default one, Postbox will think it’s just been installed and prompt you for account data at next startup.
Instead of sticking with one profile, deleting it when a body of work has been finished, why not add a per-job or per-client profile before you begin? Then at the end of work, the profile can be deleted without completely resetting Postbox:
If you’ve found this useful please let me know with a click:
If not, please leave questions, comments or corrections below.